A room with a view #blogjune

This is one of my favourite places in Melbourne. 
image

It is in the Paris End of Collins Street, but it looks as if it would not be out of place in some suburban shopping strip. Nestled above a 7/11 up a set of stairs is a large room, with a mid-century design feel of open space and pine. At the moment, it is Mamasita, but when I first discovered this place, it was the Recorded Music Salon.

It was where 6 years ago, during a lunch date with my friend Pete, I decided to start a blog- this blog :). It was where I would cajole friends to lunch, and where I introduced Mr BG to the joys of Mexican cuisine (that have only been surpassed by tacos from the Mission in San Francisco).

I would sit at those windows and look at the passers by, the people at the tram stop, the trees and the beautiful buildings opposite and think how fabulous it was to be right there.

Leave a Reply

