Dealing with disappointment #blogjune

I have a photo of my sister aged four throwing a tantrum, while my baby brother looks on. I don’t remember the incident, but judging from the context of the photo, she had a toy and had to give it to him, and was none too pleased about the situation.

I have finished watching the season finale of Game of Thrones, and I feel like my sister- I want to scream and yell and carry on, as characters appeared to drop like flies, and I have to wait a very long time to see what becomes of  them all. Cliffhangers suck.

It’s only a TV show and is not real life (though wouldn’t real life be way cooler with dragons?), but there are times when life can be pretty sucky. All you want to do is take to your bed, cry buckets of tears, and self medicate with chocolate, alcohol or both.

I applied for a position at work last year, and did not get it. I had been acting in the position, but there was another candidate who was stronger. It was the first knock back at an interview I’d had in 14 years and it hurt like hell. I will admit that there was much wailing and gnashing of teeth for a day or two, but I remembered what a former library lecturer Walter had told my class. I acted like a professional, did a handover of the role to the new person and moved on to another role- a role, which is one I have come to enjoy immensely.

Out of disappointment can come strength.

One thought on “Dealing with disappointment #blogjune

Leave a Reply

