Woke up, fell out of bed… #blogjune

 A David Bailey image of Lennon and McCartney- a souvenir from our first trip overseas- hangs in our music/spare/red room and its composition is something which I was pondering as I went about my morning routine in my normal headless chook fashion.
While Mr BG and I agree that Rubber Soul is better than Revolver, we are diametrically opposed as to who the better writer was. Bart is a John fan, while I have always had a soft spot for Paul (though recently, I think George was the underrated one).

John Lennon and Paul McCartney by David Bailey, 1965

John Lennon and Paul McCartney by David Bailey, 1965

In this image, John looms over Paul, his arms draped over Paul’s shoulders. Paul however looks to be oblivious to this dominance and faces the camera head on. It feels as if John is trying to dominate the space, but Paul is not giving in and holding his own.

 Their song A day in the life (from Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band) popped into my head as a random stream of consciousness (much like this blog post). The song is discordant, and yet the dreamy genius of John’s parts, when merged with the pop sensibility of Paul’s contribution leads to a song greater than the sum of its parts.

Partnerships can often involve conflict, with different thoughts and approaches to a common goal. Yet when the stars align, magic can happen. Just like marriage.

And with that thought in my head, I kissed my husband goodbye and headed out the door to work.

Leave a Reply

