The Book Club

My friend Nardia is a fantastic person. She makes cheese, loves food and she introduced me to her book club, a group of ladies whom she got to know through being a ballet mum (there’s a lot of waiting around involved in being a ballet mum…).  It had been ages since I had been in a book club, way before kids, and it was nice to have a chance to talk about books and reading. I hate to spoil a stereotype, but being a librarian does not mean I sit all day behind a desk and read books, or talk books. I’d like to, but then I’d be out of a job :).

Anyway, we meet on the last Tuesday of the month at a local pub. where the publican graciously allows us the use of one of his rooms and we stay for around 1-2 hours, quaffing wine, or a tea or coffee and “talk books”. Honestly we do, but we also talk about our kids, what’s happening in our lives and trashy TV. Forgive me if I am not more specific, but what is talked about in book club, stays in book club.

This year, we were assigned a genre and we chose a book within that genre. As a result you get to read something you wouldn’t have even thought of picking up at a library or bookstore. It can be a classic like Catcher in the Rye, a popular title, or something a little bit saucy like 50 Shades of Grey- that evening was a hoot!

Some of the ladies buy the book selection at the start of the year, either from our local bookshops or online, or if you come to the book club a little bit late and are not the least organised (*cough cough*) you borrow from your kids, or from the library. My selection for book club this year was The Hunger Games, which saw a great deal of the ladies raid their children’s bookshelves for the title. (As a side note we all enjoyed it- young adult fiction is great fiction!).

For next year we are doing book bingo. Rather than genre, we are selecting a book like A woman writer, An Australian Writer, Something New, or for myself, A Book based upon a True Story. The book group ruled out true crime, so I will have to go for a hunt.

What I  have loved about being in a book club is that usually at the end of the night we ask around the table what else are you reading? This is a great way to get recommendations for further reading- word of mouth is so often the best way to find a good book to read. One my to-read list is Richard Flanagan’s Booker Prize-winning novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North which rated a thumb up from one lady, and I put my two cents in for The Rosie Effect, the sequel to Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project.

Thank you to Nardia for helping me get my reading mojo back!

 

Thanks to Bookworld for supporting this post.

Leave a Reply

