Miss BG and the case of the lazy Reader

There are times when I see Miss BG and I am slightly freaked by the resemblance. People joke about Mini-me and sometimes it is a mannerism, an arched eyebrow or catching her in a particular light which makes me think the apple hasn’t fallen far from the tree.

2014-05-03 10.40.31

We  share a taste for sweet things, dancing, and 80s pop music. She has a tendency to let things pile at the end of her bed and she can be a tad messy (no smirking, Mr BG).

There are some differences though. She is quite outgoing, much more so than I was at that age, and she is a lazy reader. In a household where both parents are librarians and her big brother is a reading know-it-all, that is not easy. She can read, and when she does, she’s pretty good- her fluency is coming along, as is her expression. But she doesn’t seem to have the love or passion for books that the rest of her family does. She will opt for the easy way out and that is to get other people to do the reading for her. Her big brother is apt to be a bit of a show off and will often try and show her up.

Miss BG is her own person- very headstrong and stubborn, but still an individual. I am glad for the differences between us. BUT, literacy skills are something which are essential and pretty much non-negotiable.

Talking to her teacher Rhonda, I am relieved that she is not at risk. Miss BG uses reading strategies and displays a good memory, it is just that reading is simply a means to an end, rather than a passion, or essential to life.

These are the strategies we have been using

1. We read together every night. It can be a chapter from a long book, or a short picture book. Occasionally she will read aloud a few sentences here and there, but this is something I am not pushing – it is something that Miss BG has to want to do herself.

2. We do her reader and her words religiously.

3. We have her try to read something, rather than have her ask what does that say.

So far her reading has improved, as has her confidence. I really enjoy the time before bed with her, as is she. Even if we never share a passion for To Kill a Mockingbird, we will always love ABC :).

2 thoughts on “Miss BG and the case of the lazy Reader

  1. And encourage her by letting her leave her bedside light on to read by herself? My parents always made me turn my light off so I resorted to torch and moonlight and have since blamed my parents for my bad sight!
    Light not on all night tho 🙂

    • Eventually :). She is not really at that stage where she wants to read by herself, but when she is I will. I used to read in bed in semi darkness and have the glasses as a result too!

Leave a Reply

