Finished Business No 4- Granny Square Blanket

When I first started crocheting, I was taught the granny stitch and when I began crocheting again, I practiced by making granny squares. Over and over again. I would do them on the train, do them while the kids were doing their swimming lessons, in combinations of navy, pale blue and white. I had a vague idea of putting them all together for a blanket.
image

Then I decided they were a bit too bland and they needed a bit of extra colour, like a dash of red. So a bit of red was added, but then they languished beside my bed, mocking me for their incompletedness. The main reason? I hate the sewing in of the ends, and the sewing together was why I kept putting it off.
image

With the end of the year looming, I was determined to finish it off once and for all. For pretty much all of Saturday and Sunday, I threaded, and looped, and snipped and tidied. And finished it!
image
The kids love it, especially for snuggling under on the couch. I am in no real hurry to start another one, but I am glad it is no longer mocking me 🙂 . This was a large piece of unfinished business, which gives me the confidence to tackle the rest after a long break.

6 thoughts on “Finished Business No 4- Granny Square Blanket

  1. Looks lovely! So that is one on the list down. Did you get the others finished by the end of the year? It is always ok to give up projects you know! Unravelling the partly done and giving the wool to those people in Sebastopol is one way of getting closure.

Leave a Reply

