Top 7 Songs from 80’s movies

Shaunstar suggested my top songs from  an 80’s movie. Clearly this reader knows me all too well :).

This proved to be tricky and entertaining. There were quite a few movies I loved, but I hated the soundtracks. As a result, anything that involves Kenny Loggins and Huey Lewis didn’t make the cut, which meant Top Gun, Footloose and Back to the Future. St Elmo’s Fire and Dirty Dancing never made the cut because I’m not a huge fan of Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze (there, I’ve said it).

With that in mind, these songs represent favourite movies and  are my favourite songs from those movies. They tend to evoke certain moments of my teenage years, and it truly has been a nostalgic trip trying to compile these. So thank you Shaunstar for giving me this assignment.

1. “In your eyes”- Peter Gabriel Say Anything

I hear this song and in my mind, I see John Cusack holding a boombox over his head, trying to woo back Ione Skye. A great movie with a great soundtrack, it was the directorial debut of Cameron Crowe. I also loved Peter Gabriel and remember doing homework while listening to his album Say Anything on my tape player.

2. “People are strange”- Echo and the Bunnymen (cover) from Lost Boys

I got into The Doors are watching this movie, mainly because of this cover! My friend Viv was a huge fan of this movie and I remember watching it just before exams with her. The lines were snappy, the boys were suitably dishevelled in a very sexy way, and the music was good too!

3. “Oh Yeah”- Yello from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

I hear this and I see Cameron introducing Ferris to his dad’s Ferrari, and Ed Rooney forced to catch the bus. I want to save Ferris! I need to see this again in my pjs, quote extensive lines from the movie and pretend I’m 17 again.

4. “If you leave”- Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) from Pretty in Pink

I prefer 16 candles to Pretty in Pink as a Molly Ringwald movie, but this song really rocks. Truly, John Hughes certainly knew his 80s britpop.

5. “Don’t you forget about me”- Simple Minds from The Breakfast Club

This was a sleepover movie, with Bernadette Moloney. We stayed up late, sneaked some cigarettes, and talked with this as the background.

6. “Ghostbusters”- Ray Parker Jr from Ghostbusters

I remember going to the movies during the school holidays in Geelong and seeing this with my sister and brothers in 1985. We all loved it, especially Bill Murray. Mental note- must introduce the kids to this…

7. “It had to be you”- Harry Connick Jr from When Harry met Sally

I skipped a uni class and headed into the city to go to the movies occasionally and this was one of those movies. I didn’t have a boyfriend and rom-coms like this one made me wish I had one.

4 thoughts on “Top 7 Songs from 80’s movies

    • Oh I will! It joins Raiders of the Lost Ark as a movie not to be missed. They have already been introduced to ET. I can see a pyjama day coming up soon where we watch movies and eat popcorn on the couch 🙂

Leave a Reply

