Sagas, schmagas

One of the jobs I used to do in my first library job was editing the monthly new books list which was printed and displayed at the Reader’s Advisory Desk.  I’d check for spelling errors and typos as well as populate the list with the details such as title, author and a brief outline of the story. The brief outlines obviously whetted my appetite for Twitter, as I could write an outline of a story in 1-2 lines. Mainly along the lines of “Heartwarming saga set in [Insert period] [Insert Geographic location]…” well, you get the drift.

I do enjoy a good saga- the only problem is they’re the proverbial brick. The only place I really read is on the train and it’s not easy lugging around 800 pages. But such is my devotion to Ken Follett that I gave it a go.

So that’s another of my guilty secrets which have come out- I love Ken Follett. Pillars of the Earth and World without End were great and one of the first books I remember reading when I was a teenager was The Key to Rebecca. If I were to give an outline of his latest book Fall of Giants it would be “a sweeping saga spread across 3 continents covering the tumultuous years of World War One, the Russian Revolution and the 1920s”.

I’m glad I persevered with it, even though my right shoulder will have a permanent droop to it from lugging it around in my book bag. This has made me all the more determined to get an e-book reader, for this is something they would be perfect, not to mention the number of titles they could carry and the settings to make it easier for vision-impaired.
Of course half the fun is in investigating- Kindle or Sony? In the purpose of research, here is a poll. Which one should I get, according to you! I have also added iPad, but I’m still not entirely sure about its functionality as an e-reader.

Leave a Reply

