12 songs that changed my life

(This was to be a post about my day at Sovereign Hill, but the school excursion was cancelled owing to the weather- ie it’s winter with a chance of rain and snow)

So this is a theme I borrowed from Corin’s recent post.

These are 12 songs that changed my life- they’re part of my DNA and shape who I am.

1. Yellow Submarine (The Beatles)- my mum and dad sang this to me as a lullaby when I was little. I was 12 when I found out it was a Beatles song.

2. Mamma Mia (Abba)- Abba was huge in our house. My sister and I had matching Abba tshirts, and

3. Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen)- one of the first songs I remember from Countdown. It still blows me away every time I hear it. I was probably 5 or 6 when I heard it. I still love the fact that I could watch music shows like this at that age!

4. (I can’t get no) Satisfaction (Rolling Stones)- We had an old record player and I used to go through Dad’s records. He had one Rolling Stones record which was a live recording. Young Keith Richards was so hot !

5. Planet Earth (Duran Duran)- I fell in love with Simon le Bon when I saw this on Countdown. It was the first Duran Duran song which started off a lifelong obsession love affair. (If you want to know more about this obsession, I have written at great length about this here and there :))

6. Tainted Love (Soft Cell)- play, rewind, stop, play, rewind, stop- this was all I did with my mixed tape on my tape player when this song came on. I could not get this out of my head!

7 One Step Ahead (Split Enz)- my favourite Split Enz song (actually a toss up between that and Message to my girl). I think it’s the bass which hooked me, then Neil’s voice.

8 Silent Night (Traditional)- I heard this a lot at midnight mass at Christmas over the years. I was 13 when I first heard it sung in German and marvelled at its beauty.

9. Bizarre Love Triangle (New Order)- this was the first New Order song I remember hearing. I loved it so much it was played at my wedding. I think the fact I had Substance in my CD collection was a plus in my favour according to Mr BG (he was able to overlook the U2 in my collection)

10.Fools Gold (Stone Roses)- Another bass line which hooked me. Another British band in what is shaping up to be a very Brit-list.

11.There she Goes (The La’s)- this 80s song I first remember noticing in the movie So I married an Axe Murderer (amovie also memorable for Mike Myers singing Do ya think I’m sexy in a Scottish accent)

12. Guess how much I love you (The Lucksmiths)- a song much later in my life, when I started going out with Mr BG. He introduced me to some great music and more importantly, some lovely people. This was another song played at my wedding.

Some of these songs have a visual quality which enhanced the music for me, but I can still listen to them and be transported back in time.

5 thoughts on “12 songs that changed my life

  1. Pingback: 12 songs that changed my life « Blogfest at Tiffany's

  2. Nearly all these songs would be in my top 12 as well. I had Duran Duran posters all over my walls, saw split enz in concert and was so into the stone roses and new order! Tainted love and Cone on Eileen were absolute favs in early highschool. Think I would add Madness and Billy Bragg though….

Leave a Reply

