Stop the world, I’m getting off…

Today is not a good day. I feel as if I’ve been playing catch up rather than being on top of things. I see unpaid bills, reminders for tickets to buy, kinder photos to buy, an email I promised to send last night, floors to vacuum and mop, dishes to wash, clothes to wash, a little girl that wants her mummy…

The problem is, I’ve been feeling like this for a while! I forgot to go to a kinder meeting last week, I say yes to things then I spend my time worrying about how I am going to find the time to do them. It’s not just at home, it’s at work as well.

Bemoaning lack of inspiration and enthusiasm yesterday, a helpful Twitter friend suggested a new project. The problem is I’m juggling so many, I’m not paying enough attention to any of them!

I want to switch off and retreat. I want to hunker down, curl up into a little ball and ride out the storm I’ve created. And I will, just as soon as I do everything I’ve said I would do.

I know it’s not just me that feels like this- we all do. In some way, it’s a comfort knowing people feel overwhelmed at times, and survive.

So, if I say no, I’m not intentionally hurting your feelings. If I’m quiet online, it’s because I’m refocusing and listening to Duran Duran. And right now, I’m off to do some puzzles with a little girl…

5 thoughts on “Stop the world, I’m getting off…

  1. Know the feeling all too well, and am currently suffering the consequences – 3 weeks of vicious virus & bronchitis that has laid me out cold. Be careful, because this is where it ends up. I have now, because of ill health, had to openly admit I cannot do it all. And guess what – it’s OK. Everyone (work and family) have said take it easy, don’t worry. So pick the things that absolutely have to be done, pick others you enjoy doing (kids’ puzzles, etc.) and politely damn the rest 🙂

  2. What they said.

    These are all signs you can’t afford to ignore – bunker down Steph, do what’s important (puzzles are way more important than ironing IMHO) & let yourself recover.

    *hugs*

    🙂

  3. Feel just how you do and want to do just want you suggest, in my mind it is crawl into a brown paper bag and close the top – just for while.

    Hope you find the time to put the order back into chaos – I am going to do a list and choose things not to do rather than a list of “things to do”.

    Take it easy.

  4. Pingback: Bouquets | There she goes

Leave a Reply

