The grr in Bookgrrl

Happy International Woman’s Day.

I’m writing this at home. Play School is on the TV beside me and Miss BG is watching it avidly. Today has been spent doing the laundry, housework, running errands, kid wrangling, making pancakes for Shrove Tuesday and making tea.

Contrary to popular opinion, it is not a day off. It is unpaid work, sometimes unappreciated, and often undervalued and misunderstood.

As part of my EBA at MPOW, I can work part-time until my children start school. For two days a week, I work as a librarian, and dress like a grownup and talk to work colleagues about work (and football- it’s Melbourne). I get to maintain my skills, and contribute to groups and teams at work.

The remaining five days I am a mum and housewife, contribute to my family, pass on skills and life lessons to the little people in the house and contribute to the school and kinder community. I’m also a taxi for budding ballerinas and soccer stars.

It’s a good balance and I feel I am lucky to lead the life I do with benefits that have been fought for by women generations ago.

Am I a feminist? Hell, yes!

I am heartenedby our Governor General calling for quotas in directors on company boards and supporting affirmative action. I only wish it were the Prime Minister calling for it as well.

I am loving the fact that I have a daughter who is headstrong, determined, and not afraid to stand up for herself, who is comfortable playing with boys and girls and dolls and blocks.

Yet there is a lot which still makes me grr…

  • a byelection in the safe seat of Broadmeadows, given to a man who wasn’t even in the ALP (I say given, because the Government did not even stand a candidate).
  • women in feminised occupations such as librarianship, education and nursing still being underpaid in relation to their male counterparts with comparable education and experience
  • certain people not doing enough dishes, or cooking, or putting away laundry. (Yes I know it’s  just housework, but I’m not the only person living in the house)
  • women being forced into marriages, to undergo genital mutilation, being stoned to death, killed by relatives as a matter of family honour or being called a slut for sleeping with footballers and speaking out about them.
  • The Herald-Sun (just because it pitches itself SO low)

Yes, some of my concerns are petty and personal, but for a lot of women, including myself, the personal is political.They are concerns worth addressing and overcoming one step at a time.

The end of school beckons and I’m off to pick up Master BG, so my rant is over.

Have a pancake for me 🙂

xo

4 thoughts on “The grr in Bookgrrl

  1. You just reminded me of this TED talk by Isabelle Allende:

    Her passion about feminism not being dead is pretty heartwarming.

    And I have to agree with you about not getting help around the house. My sister rants about this all the time. She works full time, is studying her Honours in Psychology when she isn’t working and is still expected by her PS3 playing husband to cook dinner.

    Mind you, she blames his anti-feminist mother who thinks my sister isn’t doing her duty by filling her time with study and work.

    Cheers for the good post!

  2. Pingback: Bookgrrl’s top 10 posts of 2011 | There she goes

  3. Pingback: Elly, Tilly and the Lucas Girls | There she goes

Leave a Reply

