Back to the 80s

It’s probably due to Master BG starting school, but I have been reflecting on days past on my own childhood.

A recent article in The Age on Sunday took a nostalgic trip to the 80s, which looked at how the decade is being rediscovered for its music, fashion and culture.

Making money from nostalgia is nothing new-I just think it’s a hoot that people actually look at the 80s like it’s history or something- wait a minute, it is :).

One thing that struck me was that the author herself was born in 1980, so essentially she missed some of the best bits of the 1980s. Her memories of Bon Jovi, Poison and Europe were simply not mine.

So this week, I’ll be bringing you a taste of my life in the 80’s- my favourite books, music, and memories of my time there. Seeing the 80’s straddled my primary and secondary school years and the beginning of my uni days, it was an interesting decade for me. Braces, and big hair and British boy bands, glasses and moving to Geelong, and my first (forgettable) kiss.

Today is my favourite movie moments of the 80s.

It was when Tom Cruise was a hot guy in Top Gun, Robert Downey Jr was fresh faced and Demi Moore was engaged to Emilio Estevez. The Brat Pack were super hot and Kim Cattrall played a young ingenue in Police Academy and Mannequin.

A lot of what I saw was on that new-fangled device called a video recorder. We lucked out and got a VHS and looked pityingly upon those who had chosen a Beta, mainly because there was little for them to watch at the video store. One of the first videos we saw was from 1980 but is still one of my favourites- Flying High

I watched The Breakfast Club and The Lost Boys on video and taped Ferris Bueller’s Day Off from the TV and watched it so many times I could quote large tracts of it from memory (I still can!).

I was a huge Harrison Ford fan and my all-time favourite movies featuring him were Bladerunner and Raiders of the Lost Ark. Both were seen on video, butthe power of seeing the Director’s cut at the Valhalla a few years later has never left me.

That’s not to say I didn’t go to the movies we went to the Astor in Ararat to see The Man from Snowy River and ET. The Pix in Geelong West (now a church) was where the arthouse movies played and where I saw my first French language movies during my VCE year. My VCE year (1988) was when I saw Monty Python’s Meaning of Life for the first time on telly. At school the next morning, our English teacher overheard us talking about it and launched into singing “Every Sperm is Sacred” – he was an interesting teacher!

The Village Twin (as it was then known) in Geelong was where we would go, usually with my sister and brother being dropped into town by dad. We would head to coles to get cheap lollies and soft drinks before going in! It was we saw Ghostbusters, Gremlins, The Goonies and Back to the Future. My sister was a very big Michael J.Fox fan, and her side of the room was plastered with posters of him as well as Michael Jackson.

The 80s were the decade in which I discovered James Bond, largely through this song

Then I realised the better Bond movies were those of Sean Connery, and Goldfinger the best Bond theme song of all.

I remember cutting history class at uni to watch Dead Poets Society, though now I really can’t see what the fuss is about. St Elmo’s Fire and Dirty Dancing were okay, but not great movies.

So next time will be fashion- it will be scary reliving that in my head…

2 thoughts on “Back to the 80s

  1. Pingback: My Top Seven | There she goes

Leave a Reply

