Singing and dancing in the rain

I was watching this the other day with Master BG on my lap. He recognised the song, having heard it played at daycare, and could sing along with some of it. We sat and watched, me amazed at Gene Kelly’s artistry and footwork and my son, tickled pink that here was someone grown up dancing and enjoying splashing and getting wet!

I remember watching a lot of musicals as a child- The Sound of Music, Calamity Jane and My Fair Lady were favourites. This one came out when I was 7 and has remained my all-time favourite though 🙂

For the kids now, musicals tend to be a bridge between kid’s music and Top 40.  The tunes are catchy, and more often than not, I know them well enough to sing along as well. I’m finding Youtube a great way to introduce the kids to music I loved as a child. Bohemian Rhapsody which I used to watch on Countdown gets played quite a bit chez Bookgrrl!

They also love the music dad plays on the computer. Master BG has a leaning towards Britpop and the Beatles, while his sister doesn’t care, so long as she can dance to it.

So today, I was a grrl on a mission, to enrol my little girl into dancing, and myself into a dance class. I guess watching Gene Kelly and all those Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers musicals has inspired me…

PS I’m also participating in the WordPress Postaweek 2001 challenge. I’ve blogged every day of June last year and made a valiant attempt to blog 12 days of Christmas, but as I made a resolution to spend less time on the PC, not more, I’m thinking I can accomplish a weekly post more easily. Of course that’s not to say I won’t blog more.

Leave a Reply

