So much to do, so little time…

One thing I have learned about reviewing things, is that it takes a lot of time, because not only do you have to write about them, you also have to experience them.

I had planned to do a restaurant review- didn’t happen.

I had planned to do more book reviews, but it was hard finding the time to read, then provide a decent review of them.

Of the other things I did do and didn’t write about I’ll give a short precis-

Fight Club- it was recommended I read it. I tried and honestly it didn’t grab me. I should have been 15 years younger when I read it, much like when I read Catcher in the Rye in my twenties.

History of Scotland- part of MrBG’s family is from the Isle of Skye and we’ve spent a bit of time in Scotland on previous holidays. Great series, and the episode on the clearances featuring the Isle of Skye were particularly poignant, given this was basically how his ancestors ended up in Australia. (The others were largely ne’er do wells from Ireland that were provided free transportation passage). Anyway, it was really good, very comprehensive and ably narrated by archaeologist and historian Neil Oliver, rather than a Scottish celebrity.

Deadwood- I watch this series over and over again. The language is colourful, and so too are the characters. Be warned of the proclivity to swear profusely after watching this đŸ™‚

Buffy Series 8- no, this isn’t a typo. The sanctioned 8th series of Buffy is not on TV/DVD, but in a graphic novel format. Written by Joss Whedon, it is fantabulous to see the characters come to life on the page, and read all the Whedon witticisms.

Moon Safari- Air- one of my favourite albums from a duo from Versailles. It’s old (released 1998) but I still think their best.Sublime, blissful, makes me  feel floaty.

Now the fun begins getting ready for Christmas, getting Master BG ready for school (eek!), and trying to end up on Santa’s good list so I can get what I really want- new eyes for Mr BG, and lingerie from Agent Provocateur (yeah I know- ain’t gunna happen…)

3 thoughts on “So much to do, so little time…

  1. Deadwood is just great- got all the series for my husband’s birthday (thanks to a Twitter question…)- we don’t so much swear more, but do call silly people (and our dogs) hoopleheads!!

  2. Have already heard from Mr BG at work what a great trip you had. I must catch up on The History of Scotland; my family and I are from Glasgow. And I can’t believe Master BG is at school next year – seems like no time at all since he was a baby.

Leave a Reply

