Bookgrrl’s Hottest 100 (books) for 2010

JustgirlwithshoesRien d’important , and NewGradLibrarian have already looked at the Angus & Robertson top 100 books for 2010 and checked off which ones, they’ve already read, would like to read, or have enjoyed reading. This is my go!
* = Books I have read
+ = Books I have enjoyed reading
@ = Books I would like to read

1 The Twilight Saga Stephenie Meyer * (read it mainly to see what the fuss was about and STILL don’t get it)
2 Harry Potter 1-7 J.K. Rowling *+ (rollicking good read!)
3 The Millennium Trilogy Stieg Larsson*+ (not so rollicking, but gripping.
4 To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee * + (one of my favourite books of all time)
5 The Lovely Bones Alice Sebold * ( a good book, but not necessarily one I would re-read)
6 Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen *+ (a very good book, and one I have read over and over again)
7 My Sister’s Keeper Jodi Picoult *
8 Sookie Stackhouse Charlaine Harris @ (love the True Blood Series!)
9 The Time Traveler’s Wife Audrey Niffenegger *+ (but the movie was meh)
10 The Book Thief Markus Zusak *+
11 Lunch in Paris Elizabeth Bard @ (if I can’t be there,reading is always the next best thing)
12 The Kite Runner Khaled Hosseini @
13 Memoirs of a Geisha Arthur Golden
14 61 Hours Lee Child
15 Dragon Haven Robin Hobb
16 Vampire Academy Richelle Mead
17 The Silent Sea Clive Cussler
18 Mao’s Last Dancer Li Cunxin *+ (I didn’t think I would, as my mum raved about it and once again, she was right. )
19 The Lord of the Rings J.R.R. Tolkien *+
20 Tuscan Rose Belinda Alexandra
21 The Power of One Bryce Courtenay *
22 The Notebook Nicholas Sparks @ (
23 The Pacific Hugh Ambrose (son of Stephen Ambrose who wrote Band of Brothers which I loved, but the Pacific doesn’t interest me so much)
24 Ransom David Malouf
25 Jane Eyre Charlotte Bronte *+(hmmm dark brooding, yet passionate man- I think reading this as a teenager set me on a course for looking for Mr Rochester in real life)
26 Dear John Nicholas Sparks
27 Magician Raymond E. Feist *+ (read this ages ago, but this is the first and the best)
28 The Catcher in the Rye J.D. Salinger * (I should have read this when I was a disaffected teenager)
29 House Rules Jodi Picoult *+ (latest one and one of her best)
30 Wuthering Heights Emily Bronte *+ (honestly, why would anyone read Twlight when they could read this?)
31 A Thousand Splendid Suns Khaled Hosseini @ (I have my mum’s copy and I’ll read it eventually)
32 Marley & Me John Grogan (don’t like books about dogs. There I said it)
33 Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls Jane Austen & Steve * (you can’t improve on perfection)
34 Breath Tim Winton
35 The Bronze Horseman Paullina Simons
36 Cloudstreet Tim Winton
37 The People’s Train Thomas Keneally
38 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland Lewis Carroll *
39 Truth Peter Temple (I should, he’s a local boy)
40 Little Women Louisa May Alcott *+ (loved this book as a young girl- I would have loved to be a writer like Jo)
41 Eat, Pray, Love Elizabeth Gilbert
42 The Host Stephenie Meyer
43 The Da Vinci Code Dan Brown *+ (terrible writer, but a good read- guilty pleasure)
44 The Book of Emmett Deborah Forster
45 Ice Station Matthew Reilly * (the first one I read of his and quite exhausting- too much action and violence for this little bookgrrl)
46 The Road Cormac Macarthy (post-apocalyptic anything gives me nightmares, especially if they’re a film starring Kevin Costner)

47 The Memory Keeper’s Daughter Kim Edwards +*
48 Persuasion Jane Austen *+ (love, love, love, love, love)

49 Jessica Bryce Courtenay*

50 Atonement Ian McEwan*+ (see no 48)

51 Tuesdays with Morrie Mitch Albom
52 The Pillars of the Earth Ken Follett *+ (epic historical saga with a bit of raunch thrown in- fun to read)
53 The Alchemist Paulo Coehlo
54 April Fool’s Day Bryce Courtenay
55 Life of Pi Yann Martel *+ (interesting)
56 Angels & Demons Dan Brown *+
57 The Pact Jodi Picoult*+( This was the first I read which got me hooked on Jodi Picoult)
58 The Five People You Meet in Heaven Mitch Albom
59 Parrot and Olivier in America Peter Carey
60 Always Looking Up Michael J. Fox
61 Seven Ancient Wonders Matthew Reilly *
62 The Hobbit J.R.R. Tolkien *+
63 Nineteen Minutes Jodi Picoult *+
64 The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Burrows @
65 The Lost Symbol Dan Brown * (I think any book after The Da Vinci Code was going to be a bit disappointing)
66 Solar Ian McEwan @
67 Fallen Lauren Kate
68 The Historian Elizabeth Kostova *+ ( a book about librarians and vampires- excellent combination!)
69 P.S. I Love You Cecila Ahern
70 The Chronicles of Narnia C.S. Lewis *+ (I read the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe in Grade 3, and still think it’s great, and much better than Tolkien)
71 Obernewtyn Isobelle Carmody
72 A Fortunate Life A.B. Facey
73 Handle with Care Jodi Picoult *+
74 Cross Stitch Diana Gabaldon *+ (brawny men in kilts- what more could a girl ask for?)
75 Dirt Music Tim Winton
76 It Stephen King*+ (haven’t read every single Stephen King, but read enough to be a fan)
77 Hourglass Claudia Gray
78 Tully Paullina Simons *+ (the first Paullina Simons and one of her best)
79 The Mists of Avalon Marion Zimmer Bradley*+ ( my favourite version of the Arthurian romance)
80 Shantaram: A Novel Gregory David Roberts*+ (epic book, and amazing story)
81 The Princess Bride William Goldman*+ (I think the movie is better, but still a great book)
82 Nineteen Eighty-Four George Orwell *+
83 Requiem for a Species Clive Hamilton
84 The Other Boleyn Girl Philippa Gregory *+ (the Tudor period of history is one of my favourites)
85 Break No Bones Kathy Reichs *
86 Animal Farm George Orwell *+
87 The Six Sacred Stones Matthew Reilly
88 The Five Greatest Warriors Matthew Reilly
89 Maralinga Judy Nunn
90 Fight Club Chuck Palahniuk (Debating whether or not to actually read it- do I have to be a nihilistic male to enjoy it?)
91 One for the Money Janet Evanovich *+ (All hilarious!)
92 Worst Case James Patterson
93 Once in a Lifetime Cathy Kelly *+
94 The Stand Stephen King*+
95 Anybody Out There Marian Keyes *+ (she’s great and have read allof her books, have a thing for Irish chick-lit)
96 The Secret Rhonda Byrne
97 Temple Matthew Reilly*
98 All That Remains Patricia Cornwall*
99 The Slap Christos Tsolkias *+ (characters are very flawed, and very realistically drawn. Uncomfortable, yet gripping to read)
100 Interview with the Vampire Anne Rice*+ (read this at Melbourne Uni in the Rowden White Library, while surreptitiously eating Fantales)

I’ve read over half, and I only want to read 4, so it’s not really a top 100 books. It was a trip down memory lane of my reading history, though and thoroughly enjoyable!

One thought on “Bookgrrl’s Hottest 100 (books) for 2010

Leave a Reply

