Crochet capers

The first day off saw me off…to Melbourne to the CAE to do a Crochet for Beginners class. It has been on my todo list for a while and I had promised myself I would do it while on my mini breaks.

The class was small, with 6 ladies and the instructor. The atmosphere was quite relaxed and everyone was encouraged to go at their own pace. The instructor was quite good and demonstrated the stitches for both right-handed and left-handed crocheters.

The all-day class appealed as it meant not having to stay back late to do a night class over a few weeks. It did however, mean that you learnt a lot, and it was a lot to take in. My shoulders are a bit sore from being hunched over as well.

So what did I learn?

  1. Double Crochet
  2. Treble Crochet
  3. Treble Stitch sampler

  4. Chain Stitch and Slip Stitch
  5. Granny Squares
  6. Granny Square

  7. Changing Colours
  8. Increasing and Decreasing
  9. How to make little flowers
  10. How to do a shell stitch

Shell Stitch with raised double crochet

The course came with yarn, a hook, a wool needle, course booklets and a Patons book on how to crochet.

I learned I need to work on my tension, and on controlling the yarn. Just because it’s one hook involved doesn’t mean it’s easier than knitting!

I see myself practicing a lot, and see some scarves and granny squares in my future. It was enjoyable and challenging learning a new craft, and sure beat staring at a screen today :).

This post is for @shewgirl, who has been so patient!

8 thoughts on “Crochet capers

  1. Well done!! I’m so impressed – your first efforts look terrific! Especially the cute little granny square and the shell stitch πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds great and your crochet samples look great. I got my mum to remind me on the weekend how to crochet so I have a crochet needle and some wool at home…pity by the time I got home I forgot most of what she told me πŸ™‚ I see some crochet n cuppa sessions coming up!!

  3. Brilliant! I’ve been thinking of doing the CAE course, they also have an amigurumi course I’d like to do. And I’ve been thinking of some knitting workshops, and bike maintenance!

Leave a Reply

