Memes, memes, wonderful memes!

In for a penny, in for a pound…

Do you snack while reading?
Not usually, as I read on the train. Sometimes I’ll grab an apple.

What is your favourite drink while reading?
Usually enjoyed with a cup of tea, white, no sugar.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
I used to mark my books especially when I was studying. My copies of To kill a mockingbird and Macbeth still have the notes I made when I was in high school. Now the only writing in books I do is to put my name and phone number on them to make sure they come back.

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat?
I used to dog-ear, then bookmark, then lie the book open flat. Then I would find the book closed and put away neatly if my mum was around! Now I have a vague idea as to where I am in the book, so it’s okay.

Fiction, non-fiction or both?
Anything and everything! I will often have a couple of books on the go, so I can read whatever I’m in the mood for.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere?
I’ll stop anywhere, though if I’m reading in bed, I’ll read to the end of a chapter. If I’m on the train, I’ll keep reading until the very last second.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
I stop reading the book, then vent to my husband, or vent online! I remember doing that a lot with Twilight and a book called My French Life written by Vicki Archer- a very smug book about her life in France.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
I’ll look at the context in which the word is used, and if it is really irking me, I’ll look it up.

What are you currently reading?

Don’t make me think by Steve Krug and Prioritizing Web Usability by Jakob Nielsen. And lots of blogs at the moment…

What is the last book you bought?

Prioritizing Web Usability by Jakob Nielsen for uni and Compendium of Crochet Techniques by Jan Eaton at the same time from Book Depository

Do you have a favourite time/place to read?
Would love to read on the couch in the afternoon, but it’s a tad hard with the kids. I read at night in bed, and on the train to and from work. The train ride is an hour each way of pure uninterrupted bliss.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones?
More of a stand alone person, but there are lots of series which I’ve enjoyed- Harry Potter springs to mind. As a child I loved Secret Seven, Famous Five, Trixie Belden, the Narnia chronicles, and the Earthsea Trilogy

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee.

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?
More of a genre- art, history, uni texts are all together, fiction is grouped with my more favourite titles on lower shelves so I can reach them more easily. Cookery books in kitchen above the fridge

Barbara’s additional question: background noise or silence?
I prefer silence- most reading gets done on the train. But having two younger (noisy) brothers growing up, I can pretty much read anywhere.

6 thoughts on “Memes, memes, wonderful memes!

  1. To kill a mocking bird one of my all time favourites and I adore the film. My dog is called Boo after Boo Radley.

    Atticus Finch what a man…

  2. I loved Don’t make me think by Steve Krug. When the postman dropped it off to my door I thought I’ll flick through it and check it out and ended up reading the whole lot [yes, that was pre-children!] It is a very non-text textbook. I still refer back to it quite often too.

  3. Pingback: snapshot of day nine | Libraries Interact

  4. Pingback: Bookworm Meme | House of Sage

Leave a Reply

