Ruby Tuesday

The first song I remember is Yellow Submarine. My mum used to sing it to me as a lullaby to go to sleep. I never realised it was a Beatles song until I was much older I confess :).

There were a few records that my parents had when I was growing up. We were all into Abba and I remember my Dad bringing in the record player into the hospital for Mum when she gave birth to my first brother in 1976 so she could listen to the sweet sounds of Swedish pop.

Apart from Abba, my favourite album from my childhood was a Rolling Stones live album. The cover was a stark black and white image of Mick’s face, with his lips a ruby red. “(I can’t get no) Satisfaction” was the first Stones song I heard at the age of 7 and it’s still my favourite.

There was nothing like hearing the crackle through the speakers as you put the needle down on the record, the anticipation building as the record spun, and then hearing the unmistakeable riff. The album became a tad scratched, I must admit, owing the dancing I would do to the song…

The Stones were never really an album-based group like The Beatles. I could tell you without hesitation my favourite Beatles album (Rubber Soul), but I’d be at a loss to tell you my favourite Stones album.

They’re good to listen to in the morning on the way to work, along with the Who and David Bowie. The guitars really wake me up!

Of course there’s also music for the gym, for the evening, and for when I’m feeling particularly silly or nostalgic- I’ll save those stories for another day!

3 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday

  1. My Dad used to make 60’s & 70’s novelty song mix tapes for me and my sister, so basically every Beatles track that was sung by Ringo was on there. “Octopus’s Garden” is still a bit of a fave, as is Tommy Steele’s “What a Mouth”. I can still sing most of those songs start to finish without thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

