Can books talk?

I am counting down the days- 7 to go- until I hand in my last assignment for uni for this semester. I have a pile of books, a pile of projects and a list of shops I am keen to visit, once I am on holidays from uni!

The latest book to end up on the book pile is Sunday’s Kitchen: food and living at Heide– a wonderful combination of recipes and a general biography of the life of one of Australia’s most intriguing art patrons. And that’s as much as I can tell you, because it looks so inviting.

It’s beside me now as I write, and I can see it out of the corner of my eye, jumping up and down yelling, Read me! Read Me! No, not really, it’s more of a siren call. I think if books could talk, it would be in hushed tones, sultry, breathy, seductive, almost like a phone sex operator! I’ve just hidden the book under my uni text Prioritizing Web Usability, which has muffled the Read Me! tones somewhat :).

And in other news…

Melbourne has just been given the title of City of Literature, and is one of 3 cities worldwide to have this status, the other two being Edinburgh and Iowa City. To commemorate this achievement, 2012 has been declared the National Year of Reading. The launch for this won’t be until July, but Facebook is stirring up interest with a Love 2 Read page. On it you will find a variety of librarians, all of whom are very enthusiastic about promoting the Year of Reading.

Anyway, enough chatter from me- back to my assignment…

Leave a Reply

