The Eternal

Ian Curtis 1956-1980

30 years ago today, Ian Curtis committed suicide. He left behind a wife, a baby daughter, girlfriend and three bandmates of Joy Division that went on to become New Order. He also left behind songs which still reach out to you with their angst, their rawness and dark energy.

I remember John Lennon’s death in 1980, but not that of Ian Curtis. My eighties were more full of pop, and Smash Hits. I loved New Order, but was not really aware of their musical beginnings until Love will tear us apart reached no 1 in the Triple J Hottest 100 of All Time in 1989.

Admittedly I listened more to Joy Division when I met Mr BG, but they’re on fairly heavy rotation on my iPod. My favourite time to listen to them is on my way to work on the train in the winter dark- their energy keeps me awake!

Leave a Reply

