Friends will be friends

A birthday present from the lovely Ms S- the companion to the collection of the National Portrait Gallery (currently housed in the old Parliamentary Library in Old Parliament House in Canberra) and a book bag from the National Library of Australia.

Ms S is also a librarian, and I have known her since I started out as a newbie librarian (a newbrarian?) sometime last century- 14 years to be exact. I have seen her grow from a casual library officer to a library manager, from a single girl to a married mum to two gorgeous children, a girl and a boy, who are similar ages to my little BGs (which is good as we do regular clothes swaps for the younger kids!).

We both wear a lot of black, love gin and tonics , chicklit and 80s music. She’s great to talk to when I’m feeling down, and I’ve acted as a sounding board and general de-cluttering advisor. She is one of the few people who get me and I love her for it.

Leave a Reply

