Happy Mother’s Day

I remember my first Mother’s Day waking up to a crying 7 week old baby at 6 in the morning and wondering what was so special about the day (well there were more swear words involved…).

The day has improved somewhat since that first day, but I’ve come to realise that every day is mother’s day. I don’t mean that in a saccharine, pink card and flowers way, but every day for the rest of my life, I will be a mum. There will be someone who needs me to make breakfast, get a drink, help get dressed, wipe a nose, answer endless questions and nag them to tidy their bedroom/lounge/dining room for the forseeable future. There will also be someone who will need tickles, cuddles and kisses as well, not to mention the sheer joy and pride of seeing a little person grow.

My favourite hello kitty slippers and my favourite silver heart-shaped pendant were both Mother’s Day presents. This year I received a pair of lovely hand made cards from the kids, each with their hand prints, which will be treasured.

I also ran the entire 6km around Lake Wendouree for the first time ever, for the Mother’s Day Classic in 37 minutes. That was my mother’s day present to myself- improving my fitness and health and achieving something I had always wanted to do.

Happy mother’s day to all mums!

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Congrats on the lap of the Lake its no easy feat, I’ve have never managed to do it. Is there water in that thing yet?

Leave a Reply

