More than words can say

“Action is eloquence and the eyes of the ignorant are more learned than their ears.” – Shakespeare, Coriolanus, Act 3, Scene 2.

One of the things I look forward to at the end of the day when I’ve been at work, is walking in the front door. The minute I close the door, I hear “Mummy!” and two little children race down the long hallway to give me a hug, demand to be picked up and kiss me.

Children’s actions convey so much more than what they can say. My mum said I was a cuddly baby, loving to be cuddled and kissed, and I am happy to say both my children relish the same. As an adult, to me nothing says I love you more than an unexpected kiss or arm around the waist.

Don’t get me wrong; I love words! I am a librarian after all :P. Having your loved ones tell you how they feel through the spoken or written word is a thrill. But a gesture, be it touch, or a smile can confirm how a person feels; without action, words can feel hollow and empty.

When Mr Bookgrrl and I had been going out for a while, he and I were out with my parents. Sitting beside me, he gave my back a little rub. A little while later, Mum said she was relieved to see that, because to her, that meant that he must really love me. Mr Bookgrrl later said that he had been afraid to touch me in front of my parents before because he thought my dad would kill him.

My latest gesture for my husband though, is getting a start on the pruning of the 50 million rose bushes we have in our garden (ok, 30 or so..). The skip has arrived and tomorrow we brave a Ballarat winter’s day to get stuck into the garden. I don’t think I have a finger that hasn’t been pricked or scratched by a pesky thorn. The things you do…

Leave a Reply

