I get by with a little help from my friends

Initially this post was to be titled ‘Bad moon rising’, owing to my conviction that the full moon had something to do with Master and Miss Bookgrrl’s unsettledness for the last two nights. Usually I can handle pretty much anything with a few hours’ sleep, but take the sleep away and I feel I am wading through treacle. Everything will get done, just s-l-o-w-l-y.To top it off I decided to forgo my PT session at the gym and rang to say I couldn’t attend. The officious receptionist informed me it was within the trainer’s prerogative to forfeit my session as I had given less than 12 hours’ notice. Not a good start to the day…

However, the black mood has slowly dissipated owing to a couple of good things:

  • a coffee bought for me by one of the mums whose two boys came over for a play this morning while she went to the bank
  • mum and dad popping in unexpectedly
  • an unexpected phone call from  Ms S, a good friend from Melbourne. I’ve known Ms S for a long time, and we catch up regularly. She was the first person I told, after Mr Bookgrrl of my pregnancies. It’s lovely to have a girl talk, and that was what I really needed today. Boys are nice to talk to, and they mean well, but sometimes a remark can be taken the wrong way, and a misunderstanding can occur.

Friends and family are what got me through today and I thank them wholeheartedly.

Am currently following TripleJ’s Hottest 100 of all time on Twitter – the song I voted for Blue Monday came in at #32 (yay!). The poll has been conducted every 10 years- the first was in 1989 when “Love will tear us apart’ by Joy Division came in at #1. ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ by Nirvana was #1 in 1999, with ‘Love will tear us apart’ coming in at #2. Will find out tomorrow what #1 will be…

And on another note my santa list stands at Go Black Scooter by missymaomao, as well as a bottle of Chanel No 5 🙂

(tho’ my dream is a tiny apartment in Paris, but will have to wait for that lottery win, as I don’t think Santa can fit that in his sack…)

à bientôt mes amis!

Leave a Reply

