Run Ballarat

Today I ran in the inaugural Run Ballarat, which was held to raise funds for the children’s ward at the Ballarat Hospital. Miss BG has visited as a day patient for her ears, and the staff and place are fantastic!

My legs are sore and stiff, my ankles hurt and my lower back aches, but it was my first fun run in nearly 18 months, in which I ran 11km, without stopping to walk. The feeling as I crossed the finish line in just under 1.17 was a combination of jubilation and exhaustion :). My neighbour Robyn took a photo of me, post fun run but I haven’t seen it- no doubt looking red-faced and relieved it’s over.

The route took in the best of central Ballarat, and the Lake. The killer was heading up the hill on Sturt Street,and the slight incline on Lydiard and Mair Street. Yet I came through and didn’t stop. I didn’t think I had it in me, but I am glad I had people like Robyn who ran with me, and Tim, my running partner and mate who believed in me.

It was strange to see the streets quiet and devoid of cars, but so inspiring to see the runners ahead and later the walkers coming in to the grounds of the City Oval. There were over 4000 registrations , and combined with families and supporters cheering people on, it felt like a sizeable chunk of Ballarat had gotten out of bed early on a Sunday morning to run for a good cause.

Speaking of which- I have a fundraising page for the event. If you could donate to helping little kids get better, I’d appreciate it. If I get more than $50 I’ll even post my post race picture on my blog :).

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Ballarat, bookgrrl

2 responses to “Run Ballarat

  1. Go girl!
    I am so proud of you. I did 10 k yesterday but I had a horse under me. Not quite as impressive.
    Kerry

Leave a Reply

