The Mean Reds

Holly Golightly: You know those days when you get the mean reds?

Paul Varjak: The mean reds, you mean like the blues?

Holly Golightly: No. The blues are because you’re getting fat and maybe it’s been raining too long, you’re just sad that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?

I’ve had a case of the mean reds, except instead of fear, it’s anger, and I feel I am angry at everything and everyone. It’s a myriad of things, issues and circumstances which have culminated in an undercurrent of anger that ebbs and flows and never seems to go away.

I make it a point not to blog when I’m angry, as the vitriol would simply end up on the page, and there has been enough hate and anger written or spoken in print on TV and online without another voice adding to it. So as a result, it has been a while since I’ve last posted.

What have I been angry about? Whadda you got?

People’s stupidity, rudeness, cruelty, and ignorance for starters. And rather than it being concentrated in one area of my life, it’s all-pervasive. It’s little incidents at school, at work, at home, in shops, that coalesce and accumulate until you feel that you have a pit of rage inside and the only thing you can do is yell and swear, bang doors and pots, stomp and calm yourself with carbs.

I felt better though, after a good session of boxing at the gym. My left hook were complimented upon by my trainer. I didn’t tell her I was imagining punching a lot of smarmy-faced dickheads who merit a punch in the face.

2 thoughts on “The Mean Reds

  1. Glad to see you’re back – missed your blog and was hoping you were ok. I know what you mean about the Mean Reds – I have it too at the moment -but as I am in the UK I am putting it down to the entering the long dark winter months…….horrible. Hoping it passes soon.

    • Hello Gemma, I don’t envy the long darkness of a UK winter. I’m hoping it passes soon, but there may be some changes needed before it gets better. Thanks for your kind thoughts xo

Leave a Reply

