Finished Business No 3- Scrapbooking A week in the life

In 2011 I decided to do A week in the life with Tania whereby you scrapbook and document your week in words and pictures.

The documenting was the easy part, taking photos and doing my usual blogging thing. Then I had to put it all together…
The stuff I needed to get, the album, backing pages, sticky dots, lettering, labels, stickers which saw me venture into Spotlight and Lincraft’s scrapbooking sections. So much stuff! So much to buy! I can see why people will continue scrapbooking because the stash of stuff you will accumulate from frequent visits to stores will have you scrapbooking forever.

I had written other things along the way, describing what I had done on that day and what had been on the menu. This was a boon, as by the time I had come to actually putting it together, much of it had been forgotten.

I realised to scrapbook well, you need time to do it by yourself, preferably without little hands ‘helping’. You need time to lay it out and to spread it out over a large surface, (preferably one that is not already covered with laundry, books, and papers), and time to plan. And I realised…I don’t always have that time! And if I do there are so many other things I could be doing with that time, like reading, writing, crocheting, knitting, and the myriad of other tasks that can take up your time.

While I am not a scrapbooker, I am glad to have done the challenge. It has been nice to look back upon that week and see how my kids have changed in a year.

Leave a Reply

