Bags and Bagging (seats)

It may have been the lugging uphill of our suitcases in Edinburgh, or the mini-meltdown I experienced in Glasgow  when I realised that all our stuff was no longer fitting into our bags with ease, but we needed to reassess our luggage situation.

We were travelling with 2 suitcases which were getting heavier by the city and our carry on bags. My carry on bag had become a de facto suitcase and even with posting back guidebooks and other heavy stuff, or stuff that took up lots of room, we were seriously overloaded.

Putting more stuff into the kids’ backpacks had only served to wreck Master BG’s backpack, and we spent a fruitless afternoon trying to find one which wasn’t hideously overpriced and which appealed to his taste. We did end up with a cabin-sized wheelie case which was small enough for him to manage and a small bag which my Auntie Moya had given us would serve as a temporary substitute for his backpack.

So it was with a new and a new/old bag that we made our procession down the steep street, down the ramp back to Waverley railway station. In hindsight we could have had another day in Edinburgh, but we were onward to our next destination of York.

And so it appeared were at least 100 other people wanting to get on the same train, which was a limited express to London. Previous assurances from railway staff about not having to reserve seats should not have been heeded by us. There were only a few unreserved seats and we didn’t get them.

At the time, I was one step away from a meltdown (mental note, really need to chillax!) as I headed to Information to enquire about reserving seats. My mood wasn’t helped by an officious twit informing me I had to make a reservation at least 24 hours before travelling. Before I could frame a pithy reply saying I think Glasgow is better than Edinburgh, he did say the next train to York would be leaving in 30 minutes, going to Cornwall, and not stopping in London. Which would mean that there was a greater chance of getting seats.

And so we embarked on the next stage of our adventure to the city of York! Where they sound like Sean Bean, where the sun was shining and where there was a riverside pub where we felt the warm sun on our face and thought god it’s nearly as hot as Florence!
image
Lewis, where it was sunny, but not as hot as Florence. Bye bye Scotland and hello again to England!

4 Comments

Filed under bookgrrl

4 responses to “Bags and Bagging (seats)

  1. Pamela

    Thank you so much for this account of your travels. I was attracted to your story as I am a librarian too. Then, the travel in Europe and Britain which I have also done, sans children or husband. Now you have reached York and I remember how much I loved the place, and it seems we have similar reactions to things. It must be the librarian outlook in some way. Certainly I have blamed my librarian mind for some attitudes, the same as you did. What will I do when you all get back home!!

    • bookgrrl

      Hi Pamela, librarians do see the world in a special way. It’s fun to see how people rearrange information, data and artefacts in different ways to make it more accessible and easy to use. As a mum, it’s also great to see how museums are becoming more kid-friendly, and recognising kids love learning through play. And with a lot of museums in the UK being free, easy on the purse to boot :-) . I’ll still be writing when I get home to!

  2. I nominated you for the Inspirational Blog Award.

Leave a Reply

