Retro Housewife

I think aprons are underrated. For a feminist this sounds a tad unreconstructed, and smacks too much of  being tied to the kitchen, but I like ‘em and here’s why…

1. Utility- they protect your clothes when you’re doing something messy, like baking, or doing the dishes, or standing at a hot barbecue flipping burgers at a fete. I also don’t wear trackies, except for exercising or painting, so I would rather wear something over my clothes.

2. They can be fun. I have a matroyshka pattern apron, which Miss BG loves to see me wear. Though I think it may have something to do with the fact that when I wear it, I am usually baking.

3. They can be so pretty! This was made by Marilyn Cardinal who has an Etsy Shop as Missy Mao Mao. Marilyn also makes bags and cosmetic purses and I must confess to also having a makeup and lipstick purse and a bag made by her. Marilyn is based in Ballarat but also goes down to the Sunday Market at the Arts Centre. The apron was so pretty I felt I had to dress up to play 50’s housewife. Come cocktail hour, I’ll swan off and make myself a gin and tonic :)

I would like to state for the record I don’t wear aprons all the time, and that I have just as much pleasure putting on my other work/librarian clothes. I figure, if I am going to be at home, why not inject a bit of glamour?

8 thoughts on “Retro Housewife

  1. I have a few retro aprons- must post about them also!
    I rarely wear them, but when I do – I have a LOT of fun :)

  2. I am so used to wearing an apron when I cook that I had to buy one when we were on holiday overseas. It didn’t feel right cooking without an apron.

    • I have usually bought teat towels as souvenirs, but your buying an apron makes me think this could be a good idea. I don’t usually cook with an apron, but I’m getting used to it!

  3. I love the apron you are wearing in this photo! It is gorgeous. I love vintage aprons but never wear one. I am going to start making more effort to put one on before cooking. xxx Elissa

Leave a Reply

