10 books beside my bed

This is not a picture of the books by my bed, but my bookshelves. My bedroom is a bit messy at the moment :)

As I mentioned, there is a pile of books beside my bed, which gets organised and tidied regularly. Some books are simply in transit- they’re on their way back to the library or back to the bookshelf, while others are destined to stay there for some time.

1 The lieutenant by Kate Grenville- I read this ages ago and am re-reading it. She is a fantastic Australian author, whose prose evokes the initial European settlement of New South Wales with such colour. I was looking for The Secret River so I could read the next book in my pile which is

2. Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville. I’m looking forward to this one!

3. Family Circle- okay, a magazine, but there are some really great knitting patterns in this issue, which I am dying to try out. I also find by keeping it near my bed, I am more inclined to be hit by the inspiration to hunt for wool and knitting needles!

4. You Sew, Girl by Nicole Mallalieu. A book aimed at the beginner sewer, with tips and tricks on sewing something you can actually wear. I’m not the best sewer (it’s the pins, and the need to cut very carefully which does my head in), but I’m up for a challenge.

5. The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon- will be re-reading this. Time travel romance is a guilty pleasure for me, amongst other things which will remain private :)

6. Sams Teach Yourself WordPress 3 in 10 minutes- for the WordPress geek in me who is in the process of migrating the blog to a hosted site and getting a domain name registered

7. Op Shop Guide Victoria by Kelly Lainson- I had this near my bed looking for op shops in or on my way to Inverloch when we were there on the weekend. Good to dip into.

8. Baby Bible- I have no idea how this got into my book pile, other than Master BG was given this as a christening present, and the stories are at his reading level. Needless to say, I have taken great umbrage at the fact that the book says Jonah was eaten by a big fish. It was a WHALE.

9. The truth about love by Jospehine Hart. A book that is described an ‘an ambitious and poetic weaving of a long-ago family tragedy into the tragic history and histories of our time,’ by Jon Banville. The first three pages are like a stream of consciousness which were a huge turn-off for me. Going back to the library virtualy unread.

10 The Thirsty Moose by David Orme and Mike Gordon. Another of Master BG’s library books, about a moose which drinks all the water in the river. It reminded me of Tiddalik the frog when he read it. On its way back to the library.

What books do you have beside your bed? Do you read a couple at the same time or one at a time?

 

3 thoughts on “10 books beside my bed

  1. Loved the list, and really love finding people who love reading (and are maybe a little disorganized) like me. Thanks for the post – I just started my blog this morning, and yours is one of the first I found while I was lurking around for ideas.

  2. I limit myself to two books on the bedside table – whatever novel I’m reading (which at the moment is The beauty of humanity movement by Camilla Gibb) and my Japanese textbook, which I turn to in fits and starts and keep meaning to devote more time to.

    Gavbos side of the bed usually has a pile of space operas. Le sigh….

Leave a Reply

