Slow-cooked goodness

This was going to be a post about a farmer’s market, but @acivillibrarian mentioned in her blog post the need for recipes for her slow cooker.

Going through my recipe books, I felt I was greeting half-forgotten friends. I saw a few recipes that I thought ‘must try now the weather’s colder!’, a couple that sparked off memories of very good, or very strange dinners, and way too many recipes for cake :).

However the half-forgotten recipe for slow cooked lamb shanks failed to pop out and greet me. I did find a recipe for slow-roasted lamb shanks which is essentially this:

Brown trimmed lamb shanks in a pan, then place in baking dish. Add 2 trimmed and sliced leeks, 6 cloves of garlic, sliced onion, thyme and oregano to pan to cook. Add 2 tbsp plain flour to pan to cook for a minute, then add 1 litre beef stock and 2 cups of red wine. Brink to the boil, then pour over the shanks. Cover and bung in a preheated 180-degree oven for 2 1/2 hours, turning the shanks every half hour. Serve it with mash (I like green beans and broccoli, but never brussel sprouts :)), and red wine (my favourite is shiraz).

If you do want a recipe for slow cooked spaghetti Bolognaise, you could try this recipe from Nicole Avery’s blog Planning with Kids. I thoroughly endorse it!

5 thoughts on “Slow-cooked goodness

Leave a Reply

