Princess

Miss BG’s first day of kinder nearly four weeks ago went well. When we got home we put on the TV and Roman Holiday was on. Miss BG was transfixed  by the ‘princess’ and we watched pretty much all of it together.Considering this is a black and white movie and not animated, it was unusual, to say the least.

There has been an Audrey Hepburn midday movie on ABC for the last few weeks and so far we have watched Sabrina (beautiful black and white dress according to our nascent movie critic), and Funny Face (beautiful white dress, but didn’t like the man- Fred Astaire).

I found a book I had of her style on the shelf today and showed it her latest fan.”Wow, Mummy, you got this princess book for me?” Well, no, this is a book I had, because I like the way she dresses.

There is a part of me which is secretly delighted that she loves something I love. Yet what makes me even happier is the fact that she discovered it herself and likes it for her own reasons and not simply because ‘mummy likes it’. I love the fact that she is developing her own tastes and interests and is  growing as a little person.

I know at the moment she loves pink and purple and loves reading about fairies and princesses and being a ballerina. I remember reading fairy tales and dreaming of being a princess, and wanting to marry a handsome prince with whom I fell in love. I remember wanting a pink bedspread, and wanting to be either a ballerina or a teacher when I grew up at the age of 6.

I’m not sure what she will say about The Nun’s Story, but Breakfast at Tiffany’s is on tomorrow, which will be interesting :)

Leave a Reply

