I’ll have what she’s having…

1989- a magical year. I was 18 and completely clueless about everything, especially boys. My first year at uni was an incredible eye-opener for a Catholic schoolgirl from Geelong.

I would skip uni and head or Acland St, Greville St or just to the city to the movies with my friend V. One such movie was When Harry Met Sally, still one of my all time faves.

What I’m saying is – and this is not a come-on in any way, shape or form – is that men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way. (Harry)

The reason why I still like this movie is that the question it raises- can women and men be friends? It’s a question which people still struggle to answer.

I have male friends. I enjoy their company, their different perspectives on life and their conversation. They are all happily attached to lovely partners, whom I have met, and in some cases speak more to than them sometimes :).

Is there a sex part to these friendships? There is an element of attraction, and for me there has usually been a moment where something clicks and you know you’re going to enjoy talking to them. Ultimately though there is a moment of choice- how do you want this fledgling relationship to develop- into a friendship or something more romantic? Ultimately friendships are longer-lasting and valued- and I still get to laugh a lot too :).

Leave a Reply

